Formals & More

Getting rid of the stash

Posted on: January 29, 2010

Today I spent quite a while going through my stash, deciding which pieces will work with what I want to sew. Then I had to match the pieces up with patterns. I found pieces of fabric and patterns I had forgotten I had! First up was a piece of beige linen.

Now, it has been a really long time since I have made any pants. I mean a really really long time! I knew I wanted to add front pockets. I also wanted to lower the waist just a bit. I underestimated the width of the legs. They are very wide! I also should have made one size smaller, but they will be very comfortable if nothing else! They went together pretty quickly, considering how long it has been since I sewed pants, or really anything other than formal wear. It was a little strange to work with a corser fabric.

Tomorrow I will make the white lace top. I got it cut out today, but supper time was calling so I left the sewing for tomorrow. Shouldn’t take any time at all. The fabric is actually strips of lace and eyelet as well as simple batiste all sewn together. Very pretty. I think I found it at a walmart years and years ago! It’s been hanging out with the rest of my stash waiting for the right pattern and right opportunity to become something wonderful! It will become the orange gathered neck top on the pattern envelope.

Next up . . . hhmmm . . . not sure yet. A few ideas, they each need a bit of tweeking.  Also depends how much time I can squeeze out. A couple dresses and another top. I really want to do the vintage items.  All of these items will be part of my “Roatan Wardrobe”! Getting excited for this trip! Ordered myself a new swim suit today, also. Will have to be pretty faithful to the gym for the next few weeks. Anyway, I need to decide which project will be after the white lace top.  Here are my choices:

The leopard print vintage blouse:The abstrct chiffon sundress with contrast sash:

                       The vintage print sundress:

 

 

Or the pink butterfly chiffon sundress (which will be a mix of atleast 2 patterns to get the look I want):

 

Hhhmmmm . . . . . . . . .

1 Response to "Getting rid of the stash"

This sounds like so much fun! I’ve yet to build a large enough stash of usable size fabric to be able to do this but I look forward to the day I can and until then I’ll have to be satisfied with my scrap projects.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Archives

