Formals & More

32 Years Later . . .

Posted on: May 5, 2010

32 years ago, tomorrow, I married my high school sweetheart! I was only 19, and he was a mere 20. But we were so in love, and nobody could tell us it wasn’t the forever kind. Well, some did try. But – and I love to say this with my nose in the air just a bit- here we are today; still together, still in love, still eachothers’ sweethearts.

I spent 9 months creating my wedding dress. I used different parts from 5 different patterns. The dress I had wanted was way out of my meager price range, and after spending several hours in the fabric store with my (future) mother in law, and a calculator (well,actually, it was a pencil and  a tablet) we figured out I could make it- only better – for only $150. I learned a lot of sewing lessons from the creation of this dress. And I learned a lot of patience. I also learned what a genius of a seamstress my mother in law was. I was living with my future in laws at the time while my sweetheart was in school elsewhere. She helped me through most of the project, but ultimately, it was my dress, created by me. Of all the dresses I have made since, none give me such pride as this one. It was a labor of love . . . and it still fits!  My wedding gown

I used 12 yards each of satin, and a satin faced organza. I purchased 45 yards of french lace that was cut into strips to make the layers of ruffled lace at the bottom of the dress and at the neckline and on the sleeves. I also made a wired hoop and tulled petticote to wear under it (although neither is shown in the picture). Unbelieveably, it isn’t lined! It has a 5 foot train, with 3 rows of the ruffled lace that goes all the way around. I hung it from a chandelier, over the round dining room table to pin the lace ruffles ( which were gathered by hand). The most difficult part of the whole dress was the invisible zipper! They continue to be the bane of my sewing experience, even to this day.

So, 32 years later, I plan to get my dress out again, maybe try it on again for memories sake, and spend some time with my wonderful loving husband.

1 Response to "32 Years Later . . ."

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Archives

