Formals & More

New Gown design . . .

Posted on: June 27, 2010

Well, it doesn’t look like much yet; as a matter of fact, when my husband walked into my sewing room and saw it, he had some unpleasant words about it. I told him that it just a muslin at this point, and you must use your creative imagination. Take away the wrinkles, the seam allowances, replace the fabric you see with a lovely soft silky drapey  ivory silk charmuese, then over lay the skirt with a crisp white lace. Pearl and crystal beaded buttons at the pleats that sit low on the left side of the skirt.  A layer of stiff tulle under the slight mermaid skirt to dd a bit of poof. And cross the back of the back of the shoulders and hanging down the low back – a double row of pearls and crystals.

My inspiration for this gown came from a vintage cocktail dress I am altering for one of my brides.  similar in that it has a silk bodice and a lace skirt. But that is where the similarities end. I want to have it ready for a bridal show I am doing the first weekend in August. Tuesday I will run up to Gail K Fabrics and pick up the silk charmuese. I have the lace (a bolt I purchased on wholesale last year) and a lining (extra in the stash). I will see if they have any really special buttons, also. While I am there I will need to get fabric for a drum majorette outfit I m doing, also. 

What did I ever do with myself before I had this sewing business?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Archives

