Formals & More

Progress; opinions welcome

Posted on: July 7, 2010

I made good progress today on the dress. I worked on the sleeves; got them attached, but still need to complete the pleats and lace edges as well as the buttons. I got the skirt made and attached, as well as the lining and the tulle at the bottom. Here, however, is my dilemma. Note the difference in the following pictures. In the first set, there are 3 buttons spread out over the 5 pleats on the skirt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here I have the same 5 pleats with 5 buttons. I can’t decide which I like better. Opinions are appreciated!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A view of the back (please ignore the bra strap; it’s only there to give my flat-chested Ms Molly some much needed cleavage). Also, keep in mind that Ms Molly apparently has scholeosis, therefore most clothing seems to hang slightly crooked on her. I really must get her to a doctor.

 And the front view. I may need a little more tulle for fluff. Opinions?

Still have to put in the zipper, add the lace trim at the hem and sleeves, and I may do some beading at the waist to match the beading that will drape across the upper back.

All in all, it was a productive day!

5 Responses to "Progress; opinions welcome"

It’s so pretty! I can’t wait to wear it for the show!

I like the three buttons better, although both look good…. I think the front draping looks great as it is, very beautiful dress.

Okaaaay, well, I’m in the minority, but I like the look of the 3 buttons better, because it keeps the dress as a whole in your eyes instead of drawing them to the button/pleated area. If that’s what you want though–go with the 5, I think either way will be beautiful. 🙂

i like 5 buttons – 3 are lost with this beautiful dress

i think the front draping looks ok as is…

candi, you are a talented seamstress!

I like the five buttons. The busyness of the lace kind of hides the three button arrangement, whereas the 5 button is a little less subtle. Both are, of course, lovely, as is the whole dress. Your talents amaze and inspire me. Oh, and I love the neckline, too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Archives

