Formals & More

Painting experiment

Posted on: August 19, 2010

At the ASG Conference, I took a class on painting silk. Loved it! Then, today, when I was at JoAnne Fabrics (only went to pick up a few bra inserts; came out $111.00 later . . .) I heard this fabric calling my name –

I had already been thinking of one last summer dress I would like to make before my NY shopping trip next week. This seemed like the perfect fit. But, I also needed a piece of lace or mesh to finish the back. Couldn’t find anything (I was at JoAnnes, remember) that was really going to work, but then I remembered the class I took – and – BING! Light bulbs flickered and then shone bright! I picked up a lovely embroidered organza –

and of course I had the paints from a previous shopping trip –

 

-so I painted a section of the lace purple, and a section blue –

OK,so the colors don’t show very well here, but I believe I am going to go with the blue. Here you can se them against the fabric –

I would really like to see how a black crocheted (?) piece looks with it, but alas, I was only at JoAnnes . . . 

I may not get it made til Monday. I have one more dress I have to finish alterations on before I do anything for myself. I also may have a rush job on Tuesday. Bride ordered a dress from a company that decided to discontinue their line and didn’t bother to make the dress or tell us that they didn’t. We convinced them 2 weeks ago that they need to honor the commitment as well as the money they received, and it should be getting here on Tuesday. I leave town  on Friday, and the wedding is the  following Saturday, although she leaves for the ‘destination’ 3 days before. So I really need to get it done before I leave on Friday.  I will have a few hours tomorrow before 3 afternoon appointments, then appointments all day Saturday.  SO – I will have 1, maybe 2 days to work on something for me!

1 Response to "Painting experiment"

Your post sounds so….familiar, it made me smile, Thanks for that. Our JoAnnes is over an hour away from me, and never fails to frustrate me. They rarely have what I need, but then somehow I can always find something I don’t need but that intrigues me enough to purchase. Look forward to seeing your dress and how exciting that you are getting to use a new skill.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Archives

